I'm on my second full day without caffeine, basically 30 hours since I've had a diet coke. My body is very tired, I feel a little body sore and I have a caffeine headache. I should also throw in there that it's hard to concentrate which makes writing this coherently a little difficult. Let me take a little time and give you a little background.
I'm 31 and have had problems with caffeine since high school/college. That's not surprising, I'd imagine most people get addicted about that time. It's not really a big deal and I probably averaged 40 - 60 ounces of mountain dew a day. I finally decided to quit and switched to coffee then quit cold turkey my last year of college.
That first time quiting was miserable but it actually didn't last that long and after about 2 weeks you forget you ever needed coffee in the first place. The problem is that two weeks can be a horrible experience. If you can't quit cold turkey I think it's almost impossible to quit, at least for me.
Quitting cold turkey requires that you can endure being tired during the day, with a headache and slight flu symptoms. It really peaks about 24-36 hours after your last drink and then you slowly get better for the next 2 weeks. I quit on a Thursday so by Friday night I just went to bed at 7pm. I played video games Saturday and Sunday when I wasn't napping and by Monday I was able to survive work/school. Though that week I had a tough time staying awake in class.
Friday, February 29, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment